A lot of people dislike Wal-Mart–understandable, since, like most large corporations, it has a few legitimate ethical issues. But Wal-Mart is ok with me, mostly because I’m a cheapskate. Another more important reason? Wal-Mart sales books. This isn’t a big deal if you live in a town that has a bookstore or if you have access to amazon.com, but not everyone has that. I grew up in a small town where the nearest bookstore was 52 miles away. I’m not sure if Amazon existed then; if so, I didn’t know about it. Wal-Mart was my only option if I wanted to own a book. I got exposed to a lot of random authors through, like VC Andrews, Lolita Files, Christopher Pike and Lalita Tademy.

Anywho, this is one of the books I randomly bought at the Wal-Mart in my hometown. I haven’t been reading much this month, but I did just reread this mystery novel, Killer Chameleon by Chassie West. It’s a neat little murder mystery: not as terrifying as a Mary Higgins Clark book and not as hilarious as a Janet Evanovitch novel, but still a fun little read. Pick up a copy the next time you’re in Wal-Mart.

Next book on deck: Siddartha by Herman Hesse.

