Cool article by Evgenia Peretz in this month’s Vanity Fair chronicling how Mark Wahlberg went from bad-boy underwear model to super powerful Hollywood producer. Aside from the great content, what stands out to me the most is the writer’s depiction of character. It’s one of those literary techniques that makes nonfiction pop (when it’s done right). Some examples:

Wahlberg, meanwhile, is the big-picture, charismatic leader, championing projects with do-or-die enthusiasm and sealing the deals with the big names, like Martin Scorsese, who came aboard Boardwalk Empire as a co-producer and directed the pilot. “Steve is the worrier, Mark the eternal optimist,” says HBO co-president Richard Plepler. “The combination is what makes the alchemy.”

Meanwhile, Adrian Grenier, a rather dark and brooding searcher, fancied himself above it all—even though he was one of Levinson’s clients. Grenier was in Mexico, penniless and planning on sneaking into Cuba to make a documentary when Levinson called and spent hours trying to convince him to audition for the lead. “I said, ‘Yeah, but it’s television. And I don’t do television,’” recalls Grenier, parodying his younger self. “ ‘I do dark, independent films in New York, where I make no money and freeze my butt off, or I do documentaries in countries that I’m not allowed to go into.’

Check out the full article here.

