Happy New Year! Hope everyone’s 2011 has gotten off to a great start. Mine isn’t bad at all. Anywho–let’s talk books. Here’s the first book I’ve finished in 2011:

It’s called Fables and Reflections, and it’s the sixth book in Neil Gaiman’s Sandman series. I’d never really been into comics until last year, when my friend Marquelon introduced me to the Sandman books; now, I’m addicted. Not saying you’re gonna catch me at Comic-Con or anything, but I’m definitely working my way through all ten of these books. So far, Fables and Reflections has turned out to be my favorite. If you’ve read through my posts, you’ll know that I’m a sucker for storytelling, and this book is full of great stories. My favorite is The Hunt, a story that a grandfather from the “old country” tells his Americanized granddaughter. Its nuanced and fantastic, and it haunts your memory the way all good stories do.

I definitely recommend checking this one out, even if you’re not into comics. It’s a very cool little book. Next on my nightstand: Parable of the Sower by Octavia Butler. Just started reading it this week; so far, so good! Have you finished your first book of 2011? How’d you like it?

