I love it when writers write well across different genres. That can be a very difficult thing to do: switching out of the expository mindset of, for example, journalism, into the show-don’t-tell of fiction. Some writers, though, make it look easy. Here’s some great nonfiction from three of my favorite fiction writers. (Note: I’ve noticed that my taste in contemporary fiction leans decidedly in the direction of work by “international” people of color. Just in case anyone wants to buy me a book. 🙂 )

1. On the Road: American Writers and Their Hair, by Zadie Smith
Personally, talent is not what I look for in my writers. I look for hair. And Aleksander Hemon is as bald as the day is long. But bald in a strong, big-guy way . Or, as he might put it, bald like the insolent back of a dolphin breaking the foamy surf, unashamed. But that’s talent for you. Always trying to shove its self in everybody’s face.

2. Review of Grand Theft Auto IV, by Junot Diaz

GTA IV is brilliant, but despite what virtually all the reviews claim, it ain’t the revolution. If you played GTA III or higher, GTA IV won’t exactly catapult you to higher plane of existence or induce metanoia.

3. What Men Aren’t Telling Women by Chris Abani
That women are mysterious and unknowable is something every young man grows up believing. Men, on the other hand, never think of themselves as mysterious or confusing, and we are often at a loss as to why women want to figure us out. But since you asked:

