I LOVE me some Solange Knowles!

She had a fun, pop-y single out a few years back called “Feelin’ You.” I liked it but never paid much attention to her other music (except for that “Proud Family” theme song 🙂 ). Anywho, in 2008 she released her second album, “Solange and the Hadley Street Dreams”. I’d been hearing a lot of buzz about it for months before I finally checked it out, and all I could say was WOW! The first songs I heard, “I Decided” and “White Picket Dreams”, were fresh, original and super cool.

Another song, “This Bird”, has my favorite line from the whole album: “I’m not gonna sing no single mama blues…” I loved it when I heard it, but it resonated even more when I got pregnant. I definitely went through a period when I felt like a negative black stereotype–“This Bird” helped to get rid of that.

Plus, I just love her style! Growing up, I got the message that a mother is supposed to look a certain way: prim, proper, not sexy. Solange blows that out of the water. She’s got this polished bohemian punk hippie chic going on, and I totally dig her brand of black girl cool. Peep her style in this Refinery29 interview.

So get her in your life! Follow her on Twitter (@solangeknowles) and check out her blog, mydamnblog.com.

