When I was younger, my brother bought a book at the book fair (remember those?) that was a big hit with my siblings and me. It was about a little girl who, somehow, got caught by a witch who wanted to eat her. I won’t give the plot away, but part of it involved the witch telling the girl to take a bath in preparation for being cooked and eaten (fairy tales are morbid…but that’s a post for another day). Anywho, the witch kept calling out “Are you washing, girl?”, a phrase which my mother translated to a humorous “Are yooooooooooou washing! gal?” It cracked us up every time. Now that I have a little bambino to read to, I’ve been feeling nostalgic and wanting to introduce him to books that made me smile, this one included. But, for the life of me, I could not remember the title!

That’s where Google came in.

All I could remember was the phrase “Are you washing, girl?”, so that’s what I Googled. I got a hit on some chick’s MySpace page. Apparently, she’s nostalgic too; she’d posted the entire story, which was great for me! I got to read the story AND find out the title. It’s a reinterpretation by Joanna Cole of a Russian folk tale called “Bony Legs.”

Score one for the information age!

