Sooo…

Originally I wanted this blog to be an extension of my professional self. But that was boring, and I wasn’t interested enough to keep it current. So, I’ve decided to just post about things that interest me–mostly literature and pop culture, but also whatever randomness I happen to be fascinated by.

So, in the spirit of new beginnings, here are some new things I discovered over the past year (and by new, I mean “new to me” 🙂 ):
1. Natural Hair Blogs
I decided to stop chemically relaxing my hair, which was simultaneously cool and frightening (“going natural” is typically a HUGE deal for Black women in America). After relaxing for the past 15 years, I had no clue what to do with my head. These blogs helped: bglhonline.com and curlynikki.com. If you’re natural or thinking about going natural, definitely check these out.

2.Mylicon
If you don’t have a child, this word probably means nothing to you. However, if you’ve ever had to deal with a fussy, gassy baby, you know that Mylicon=Manna from Heaven.
mylicon.com

3. Neil Gaiman
I used to pass by the comics section in bookstores without even pausing until a friend of mine lent me a copy of Preludes and Nocturnes, the first book in Gaiman’s seminal Sandman series. The book was all kinds of awsome, and I’m in the process of reading the 10-book series. I’ve also checked out some of his fiction and plan to read a few of his children’s books next. He’s creepily cool.
http://journal.neilgaiman.com/

Anything new in YOUR life?

